5 March 2024

For the 21st time, the editors of ‘Puls Medycyny’ announced the results of the prestigious contest of the “List of the 100” most influential people in Polish medicine. 

This year’s list saw the addition of 19 new names, with an increase in 41 places and 39 individuals ranked lower than in last year’s ranking.

At the top of the list of the most influential figure in Polish medicine is Prof Maciej Banach, MD, PhD, a specialist in cardiology, hypertensiology and lipidology, head of the Department of Preventive Cardiology and Lipidology at the Medical University of Łódź, president of the Polish Lipid Society.

2023 was another very good year in which, above all, I continued many of the professional and scientific projects I had started earlier, including those related to a vaccine against atherosclerosis, applications of nutraceuticals (e.g. curcumin) or even more accurate and earlier assessment of cardiovascular risk. Some of the results I have achieved, such as those relating to immediate hypolipemic treatment, require systemic implementation to benefit patients. This is organisational work that also takes up a lot of my time, but without which the purely scientific activity would have little meaning. The past year has shown me once again – and I would like to emphasise this – that nothing great can be achieved without good cooperation. I have the pleasure and great privilege of working every day with fantastic people from all over the world. Some have been with me almost from the beginning of my career and continue to inspire me. However, more and more young people are joining my team, for whom I am a mentor, and at the same time I learn a lot from them,” said Professor Banach in an interview with ‘Puls Medycyny’.

The second place of the list was taken by Mirosław Ząbek, MD, PhD, CMKP professor, specialist in neurosurgery and neurotraumatology, head of the Department of Neurosurgery and Nervous System Injuries at the Medical Centre for Postgraduate Education and the Interventional Neurotherapy Centre at the Mazovian Bródnowski Hospital, director of the Gamma Knife Centre in Warsaw.

The third place went to Prof. Marcin Gruchała, MD, PhD, specialist in internal diseases and cardiology; Rector of the Medical University of Gdańsk (since 2016), Head of the 1st Chair and Department of Cardiology of the Medical University of Gdańsk (GUMed); President of the Conference of Rectors of Academic Medical Universities (KRAUM) in the term 2020-2024.

The fourth position is held by Piotr Rutkowski, MD, FESC, specialist in general surgery and oncology, head of the Department of Tumors of Soft Tissues, Bones and Melanomas at the Maria Sklodowska-Curie National Cancer Institute – National Research Institute in Warsaw, plenipotentiary of the director for the National Oncology Strategy and Clinical Trials, chairman of the Team of the Minister of Health for the National Oncology Strategy, chairman of the Polish Oncology Society.

The fifth place went to Przemysław Mitkowski, MD, FESC, specialist in internal medicine and cardiology; head of the Cardiac Electrotherapy Laboratory of the University Clinical Hospital in Poznań, president of the Polish Society of Cardiology for  2021-2023.

The list continues with many other distinguished individuals who have made significant contributions to the field of medicine and healthcare in Poland. Among them are: Jacek Jassem, Krzysztof Pyrć, Dorota Zozulińska-Ziółkiewicz, Piotr H. Skarżyński, Jacek Szepietowski, Maciej Małecki, Jan Lubiński, Maciej Krzakowski, Krzysztof Jerzy Filipiak, Krzysztof Kałwak, Marcin Grabowski, Bartosz Karaszewski, Robert Flisiak, Andrzej Mariusz Fal,Krzysztof Simon, Robert Gil, Tomasz Grodzicki,Piotr Ponikowski, Piotr Kaliciński,Andrzej Tykarski, Rafał Dziadziuszko, Konrad Rejdak, Krzysztof Narkiewicz, Mirosław Wielgoś, Adam Maciejczyk, Janina Stępińska, Piotr Gałecki, Krzysztof Giannopoulos, Piotr Pruszczyk, Mateusz Puślecki, Grzegorz W. Basak, Marcin Wojnar, Jerzy Samochowiec, Mariusz Kuśmierczyk, Tomasz Dzieciątkowski, Ewa Helwich, Janusz Skalski, Mateusz Hołda, Dominika Dudek, Andrzej Januszewicz, Piotr Przybyłowski, Krzysztof Zieniewicz,Mariusz Bidziński,Mieczysław Walczak,Sebastian Szmit, Krzysztof Składowski and others.

For the full list of the 2023 One Hundred, check it out here